to be gatekeepers

I meet missionaries, shake their hands, listen to their stories, and right then ask God, “sooo, when will You send me?”

One day it dawned in me, He has sent me all along. This place where I am is my mission field. A special calling right at home- I am at peace with that.

Have I mentioned we are moving again?

Where we live now, and where we are moving to- these were not part of our dreams when we started this family. Even part of my brain had wondered why we pursue this. Last week, hubby and I looked at a potential home, which we both really liked, not to mention it’s in a nice area in the ‘burbs, but I could not find that peace inside. Then I remember how we always pray for God’s perfect will to be done in our lives. Did it even occur to me for a moment that what it looks like might be different from what everyone else desires or dreams about?

We followed our hearts.

Now, if you’re from this city and I mention the intersection of this place on the corner we’re moving to-  you would know precisely where we live. (In fact, friends asked last night and then exclaimed they knew exactly which house it is.)

Yet, this peace remains.

Yesterday, while at the park right across the street from this soon-to-be-home, we got a good taste of what our new neighborhood would be like. Our oldest daughter and I both recognized that. Again, peace held on to me. It repelled fear and doubt. Right there, I was fully aware my heart is being transformed. Right there, I realized God is birthing this whole new love in me. I felt broken.

On another note, did God make sure that despite its age, the house would still have nice hardwood floor, lovely woodwork and that clawfoot tub in the only bathroom, because well, He knows those little things matter to this girl?

Then I got woken up way before dawn just to be made aware that the house is in a very strategic place. We are right on the corner of a square. We are to be its gatekeepers. Intercessors for the Square. 

Again, I felt broken. The mission field just got bigger.

Lord, there is no place I’d rather be than where you want me to be. I must decrease, that you may increase in my life. Strengthen this heart for Your purpose, oh God!

5 thoughts on “to be gatekeepers

  1. When you allow His Guidance to penetrate completely and you surrender it all…that peace never leaves you.

    Congratulations on your new move…May you continue to be vessels….

    m.

      • All these blessings will come upon you and accompany you if you obey the Lord your God: You will be blessed in the city & blessed in the country. Your basket & your kneading trough will be blessed. You will be blessed when you come in & blessed when you go out. The Lord will send blessing on your barns and on everything you put your hand to.The Lord your God will bless you in the land he is giving you. The Lord will make you the head not the tail.

Leave a Reply

